在香港抗擊第五波疫情之際,大規模的新冠病毒檢測是了解新變種病毒和遏制感染數量的重要策略。

目前,診斷SARS-CoV-2感染的主要檢測方法有兩種:RAT test 中文: 快速抗原測試和 PCR test 中文: 聚合酶鏈式反應或核酸檢測。

雖然這兩種測試的原理不同,但它們均可以協助及早發現感染、尋找合適的醫療護理、避免併發症,並降低將病毒傳染風險。

近兩年來,世界各地的人需要迅速熟悉「隔離」、「潛伏期」、「無症狀」等術語。因此,很多人都未必了解這兩個測試是什麼以及它們的用處。繼續閱讀本文了解更多。

【上門採樣即日報告】新型冠狀病毒鼻腔咽喉合併拭子RT-PCR測試 COVID-19 Combined Nasal & Throat Swabs RT-PCR Testrat test 中文

什麼是PCR核酸檢測?

逆轉錄聚合酶鏈反應 (RT-PCR) 測試,通常也稱為核酸檢測,是目前最可靠和準確的新冠病毒檢測方法。

根據最新研究顯示,檢測結果的準確率在98.7%到99.5%之間,具體取決於感染者是否有症狀,以及多久前感染病毒。

PCR檢測通常在特定診所進行,但合資格的醫護人員也可以在檢測對象家中、醫院或駕車進出點採集基因樣本。樣本隨後會被送到實驗室進行分析,並在24-48小時內取得結果。

  • PCR核酸檢測原理是什麼?

    抗原測試和PCR測試均有效,但它們的原理有所不同。檢測人員會從鼻咽收集包含患者和病毒基因的樣本進行PCR測試。

    樣本隨後會被帶到實驗室,進行分離並插入RT-PCR儀器中,使樣本經歷30-40次加熱和冷卻循環。這個過程也稱為聚合酶連鎖反應,從而產生數百萬份病毒DNA片段副本,以更容易識別SARS-CoV-2病毒的存在。

    透過專用軟體,化驗人員能夠閱讀和分析結果。

  • 什麼時候需要進行 PCR測試?

    由於PCR檢測需要使用特定的機器和實驗室,因此它們的成本高於抗原測試,並且需時數天(高峰期)才能收到結果。

    但是,如果您:

    • 有可能與Covid-19感染相關的症狀,例如持續咳嗽、流鼻涕、鼻塞、疲勞、頭痛和喉嚨痛等。
    • 沒有症狀,但認為曾接觸過Covid-19的患者。
    • 需要外遊並出示陰性PCR 檢測結果作為國家入境要求的一部分。

  • 什麼是快速抗原測試?

    雖然 PCR檢測被認為是新冠病毒檢測的黃金標準,但快速抗原測試(RAT)也有其優勢。首先,RAT可以在15-30 分鐘內提供結果,而且成本更低。

    此外,RAT可以由檢測人員在診所執行,但也可以自行在家中執行無需其他醫療人員幫助。

    要了解RAT的獨特優勢,首先要了解所有Covid-19測試都會告訴檢測者在測試時是否感染了活躍的SARS-CoV-2病毒。即是檢測者可能在檢測後立即被感染,並不會提供對病毒的保護。

    因此,雖然PCR測試結果非常準確,但快速抗原測試允許更頻繁的測試,因此在幫助遏制病毒傳播方面發揮著至關重要的作用。

    不過,RAT不如PCR檢測準確,檢測SARS-CoV-2存在的準確度約為72%-58% (取決於是否有症狀)。

  • 快速抗原檢測原理是什麼?

    與PCR測試相比,快速抗原測試的原理不同,不會放大收集的基因樣本,而是直接使用快速抗原測試棒採集呼吸道樣本。

    接著將樣本插入快速抗原測試試劑中,然後將溶液滴入抗原檢測試劑樣本孔上,測試樣本中SARS-CoV-2病毒的蛋白質。當樣本在試紙上散開時,抗體會在樣本中尋找抗原。如果檢測到抗原,他們會令測試棒在C字及T字位置同時出現兩條線。

    由於樣本不是通過PCR反應擴增的,因此樣本中需要有足夠的病毒抗原才能使抗體產生反應。因此,如果處於感染早期階段或沒有病徵,測試可能無法檢測到感染。

  • 什麼時候需要進行快速抗原檢測?

    如果出現與Covid-19感染引起的症狀相似的症狀,先要進行快速抗原檢測,以檢查是否呈陽性結果。可以經常使用快速抗原檢測,如在上班、參加活動或探親之前,並在15-30 分鐘內收到結果。雖然快速抗原檢測不是最準確的測試方法,但仍然有效減少感染的機會。

  • 在全仁醫務中心進行COVID-19 測試

    Covid-19測試並不能取代疫苗接種和保持社交距離以幫助遏制病毒傳播。但是,測試讓您意識到感染,以及早尋求治療,避免傳染給親友。無論需要PCR還是抗原檢測,全仁醫務中心都可以幫您更快找到答案,立即預約進行測試!

As Hong Kong is fighting its fifth wave, mass Covid-19 testing represents an essential strategy to understand the spreading of the new variant and curb the number of infections. 

Currently, there are two major types of testing options to diagnose SARS-CoV-2 infections: Rapid Antigen Tests (RAT) and Polymerase-Chain Reaction (PCR) – or molecular- tests. 

While the two tests work in different ways, they can both be useful in helping you detect an infection early, find suitable medical care, avoid complications, and reduce the risk of transmitting the virus to those around you. 

At the same time, over the past two years, people around the world had to quickly become familiar with terms such as “quarantine”, “incubation period”, and “asymptomatic”. So, if you feel unsure about what these two tests are and what they are useful for, you are not alone. 

Find out all you need to know in this guide by Trinity Medical.  

What Are PCR Tests?

Reverse Transcription Polymerase Chain Reaction (RT-PCR) tests – also commonly known as molecular tests – represent the most reliable and accurate Covid-19 tests currently in circulation. 

According to recent studies, they offer an accuracy between 98.7% and 99.5%, depending on whether the subject is symptomatic or asymptomatic, and how long the infection has been present. 

PCR tests are commonly performed in specific clinics, but qualified healthcare providers can also take your genetic sample at home, in a hospital, or at a drive-in point. The samples are then sent to a lab for analysis, and you will receive your results within 24-48 hours.  

How Do PCR Tests Work?

Both antigen and PCR tests are effective in their own way, but they work in different ways. In the case of PCR tests, the healthcare provider will collect a genetic sample from your nose, which contains both your DNA and the DNA of the virus. 

The sample is then brought to a lab, where it is isolated from the swab and inserted in a thermocycler – a special machine that causes the sample to undergo 30-40 heating and cooling cycles. This process, also known as a polymerase chain reaction, causes the sample to multiply and create billions of copies, thus making it easier to identify the presence of the SARS-CoV-2 virus. 

Thanks to specifically-designed software, the lab scientists will then be able to read and interpret the results.

When To Use a PCR Test

Since PCR tests require the use of specific machinery and dedicated laboratories, they cost more than antigen tests, and it can take multiple days (at peak times) to receive your results. 

However, you should consider this test if you:

  • Have symptoms that can be associated with a Covid-19 infection, such as a persistent cough, runny nose, congestion, fatigue, headache, and a sore throat
  • You don’t have symptoms, but you believe to have been in contact with an active Covid-19 case
  • You need to travel and present a negative PCR test result as part of a country’s entry requirements 

What Are Rapid Antigen Tests?

While PCR tests are considered to be the “gold standard” of Covid-19 tests, Rapid Antigen Tests (RAT) have their benefits. Firstly, RATs offer results within 15-30 minutes and come at reduced costs. 

Additionally, they can be performed by healthcare providers at a clinic or doctor’s office, but they can also be carried out at home by yourself or other people without professional training. 

To understand the unique advantage of RATs, it is important to be clear that all Covid-19 tests will tell you whether you have an active SARS-CoV-2 infection or not at the time of the test. This means that you can be infected immediately after, and they don’t provide protection against infection. 

So, while PCR tests can be extremely accurate, rapid antigen tests allow for more frequent testing, thus playing a vital role in helping curb the spread of the virus

At the same time, RATs are less accurate than PCR tests and are around 72%-58% (depending on whether you have symptoms) efficient in detecting the presence of SARS-CoV-2.

How Do Rapid Antigen Tests Work?

Antigen tests work differently compared to PCR tests, and they don’t amplify the genetic sample collected. RATs are performed by collecting a sample of your mucus, saliva, or tissue through a long, thin, and flexible swap. 

The sample is then inserted in a “buffer solution” that breaks apart the particles. The solution is then added onto a test strip that has lab-made Covid-19 antibodies present on two lines. As the solution spreads over the test strip, the antibodies will search for antigens in the sample. If they find them, they will trigger a reaction, causing the “test” line to become colored. 

Since the sample is not amplified through the PCR reaction, you will need to have enough viral antigen in the sample for the antibodies to react. Therefore, if you are at the early stages of your infection or you are asymptomatic, the test might not be able to detect the infection. 

When Do You Need a Rapid Antigen Test?

If you have symptoms similar to the ones caused by a Covid-19 infection, a rapid antigen test is the first point of call to check whether you are positive for it or not. Rapid antigen tests can be used often, for example before going to work, attending an event, or visiting family. While they are not the most accurate types of tests, they can still reduce the chances of infection. And, you’ll be able to receive your results within 15-30 minutes of undergoing a test. 

Book Your COVID-19 Test at Trinity Medical

Covid-19 tests don’t replace the efficacy of vaccinations and social-distancing best practices in helping curb the spreading of the virus. However, they can make you aware of an infection, seek treatment early, and avoid transmitting it to your loved ones. Whether you need a PCR or antigen test, Trinity Medical can help you find answers faster. Book your test today.  

What’s the Difference Between a PCR and Antigen Test?